TL;DR: The 5 stages of grief are denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

Grief is a universal human experience that we all encounter at some point in our lives. Whether it’s the loss of a loved one, the end of a significant relationship, or a major life change, grief can manifest in various ways and affect individuals differently. To better understand and navigate the complex journey of grief, it’s helpful to explore the stages of grief, a framework introduced by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her 1969 book, “On Death and Dying.” These stages provide insight into the emotional process of grief, from the initial shock to eventual acceptance.

(NOTE: This article is not a diagnosis. Always seek out a qualified counselor for advice on treatment plans)


The first of the 5 stages of grief, denial, is often characterized by shock and disbelief. When faced with a significant loss, it’s common for us to initially deny the reality of the situation. This denial serves as a defense mechanism, helping us cope with overwhelming emotions. During this stage, you may feel numb or as though you’re in a daze, unable to fully grasp the magnitude of your loss. Denial can provide a temporary reprieve from the pain, allowing you to gradually process the reality of the situation at your own pace.


As denial begins to fade, the emotional impact of the loss becomes more apparent. Anger is a natural response to grief, and it can manifest in various ways. You might feel angry at the person who has passed away, at yourself, or even at the world in general. It’s important to understand that anger is a normal part of the grieving process and should not be suppressed. Expressing your anger in healthy ways, such as therapy for grief, writing, or physical activity, can be therapeutic and help you move forward.


When progressing through the stages of grief, we often attempt to make sense of our loss and regain a sense of control. It’s common to engage in bargaining, where we may find ourselves making promises or seeking ways to undo the loss. We might think, “If only I had done this differently, things would be better.” As Christians, we also bargain with God in hopes He will rewind our lives to before our grief began. Bargaining is a natural reaction to the feeling of helplessness that often accompanies grief. While it may not change the outcome, it can be a step toward acceptance.


Depression in grief is different from clinical depression, but it can share some similar symptoms. During this stage, you may experience deep sadness, loneliness, and a sense of hopelessness. It’s crucial to acknowledge and allow yourself to grieve fully. Seeking support from friends, family, or a clinically excellent Christian counselor can be instrumental in navigating this stage. Remember that it’s okay to ask for help and lean on others for support. You are never alone.


The final step in the 5 stages of grief is acceptance. It’s essential to understand that acceptance does not mean forgetting or “getting over” the loss. Instead, it means coming to terms with the new reality and finding a way to move forward with your life. Acceptance doesn’t imply that the pain disappears entirely, but it signifies a shift toward healing and finding a new sense of purpose and meaning.

It’s important to note that moving through the 5 stages of grief isn’t necessarily a linear process. We all move through these stages at our own pace, in our own order. We may go from one stage to another overnight, or it may take years. Grieving is a highly personal journey, and there is no “right” way to do it. What matters most is allowing yourself the time and space to process your emotions and seek support when needed.

Understanding the stages of grief can provide valuable insights into the emotional journey that follows a significant loss. By recognizing and acknowledging these stages—denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance—you can better navigate the complexities of grief and ultimately find a path toward healing and renewal. Remember that seeking professional help when dealing with intense or prolonged grief is a sign of strength and a valuable resource on your journey toward acceptance and healing.

Are you going through the stages of grief right now? Ready to embark on your journey toward improved mental well-being? Take the first step today by finding a qualified online therapist on our website. Explore our diverse range of therapists, read their profiles, and find the perfect match for your needs. Schedule an appointment and experience the transformative power of therapy firsthand. Start your healing journey today!


Research shows that much of the change people experience during their time in therapy is because they felt heard and understood by their therapist–that their therapist “got them” and that the guidance they gave was relevant and applicable.  Because of this, it is critical that you find a therapist whom you can connect with, whom you feel comfortable with, whom you feel “gets you.” Therefore, we encourage you to take a few minutes to read a little about each one of our therapists. If you prefer to look at the counselors nearest to you, please click the office location buttons below. Otherwise, you can meet with any of our Christian Counselors online from the comfort of your own home. If you have questions about any of them, please contact us!

  • Type of Counseling

  • Client Concerns

  • Client Age

  • Counselor Experience

  • Location

  • Gender of Therapist

Sam Kunneman

MA-Level Intern      

Victoria Renken

MS, LPCC, NCC      


MA, LPCC, NCC      

Angelica Presutti

MS, LMHC      

Claire Rohan

MA-Level Intern      



Meredith Sexton


Steven Werner

MA-Level Intern      

Ali Denny

M.A., RMHCI      


M.Div, M.Ed, LPC, NCC
1 2 3 6